Playhouse Under the Stairs

28 Sep

We decided for Logan’s first birthday we would make him a playhouse. We had a little space under our basement stairs with a little door that we thought would be the perfect spot for him to play. It was a completely unfinished space, with no drywall or flooring. We finished it up and I just had to share it with you 🙂 it turned out pretty awesome!

IMG_2803

Unfortunately I forgot to take a BEFORE picture…. but here is the space just as the drywall was going up

IMG_1902

My husband started with putting up the drywall, and framing the space.

IMG_1903

IMG_1885

IMG_1905

We took an old shelf we had sitting in the garage and my husband cut it in half and then cut them on angle to create a little roof for the outside of the house.

IMG_2013Then came the window! We had to make it small, since we didn’t want to mess with much of the framing since that space was supporting the stair case. Also, we had a lot of piping through there and electrical. My husband had to make the central vac line in order to create the window.

IMG_2192

IMG_2166

IMG_2167Once that was done, I got started on the painting. I used Navy Chalkboard paint by Benjamin Moore. I thought it would be fun to make the outside with chalkboard paint so  that we can write stuff for Logan and he can use it as he gets older. The colour I used was Newburyport Blue – and it turned out great!!!!

IMG_2322

IMG_2324

IMG_2365

IMG_2367Once the walls were up and painted inside, we luckily got some left over flooring from a friend. My husband put the flooring in and then put up the trim.

IMG_2543

IMG_2541

I got the light from Canadian Tire, and found this really awesome Alphabet wall decal from Walmart!!

IMG_2756

And here is the final product….. I am so happy with how it turned out. Logan absolutely loves it – the window is the perfect height for him and he is constantly going in and out all day long. I added a little hockey sign in the front that ties it into the rest of the decor in our man cave basement. I also added a little mailbox  and house numbers (both from Home Depot).

IMG_2805

IMG_2803

IMG_2801

IMG_2806

IMG_2813

IMG_3229

IMG_2814

IMG_2810

IMG_2770

IMG_2809

IMG_2808

We are so happy we made this. We spent a lot of long nights working on it after Logan was in bed, but I really think it will be something he uses for a long time. It also is a great use of space – it went from storing our luggage to a super cute hang out. It also didn’t cost us much… We had left over drywall & trim and we got the flooring from a friend. So really it was just the paint and accessories that cost us money.

Glad I got to share it with you 🙂 I will be posting Logan’s Birthday Party soon! Stay tuned….

KT, XOX

 

Leave a Reply

