Logan’s Birth Story

26 Oct

We were blessed with a beautiful baby boy on September 29th, 2014

** Logan Anthony Berti ** 8lbs 14oz and 20 inches long!

IMG_6707

 

I want to share my story because I think alot of the times people only tell pregnant woman the horror stories of labour and the negative side of things. I think each birth story is completely different. I know not everyone has a good experience, but I want people to know that some do. I was so blessed and can honestly say that my labour was extremely positive. Sure it was hard, and there were times I wasn’t sure if I could make it through it – But I did and as soon as I met my baby – I was just so overcome with love and amazement, everything else around me stood still. There are a few specific reasons though that made my labour so positive. #1 – would be I had an epidural, and it took my pain away instantly and let me relax during my labour. #2 would be, my husband – he was such an amazing support for me and just helped me through every minute. #3 would be my doctor and nurses – they were so great and made me feel so comfortable.

I gave birth to Logan at 39 weeks. My water broke at 3 am Sunday morning on September 28th. I was sleeping on the couch (where i had slept for most nights in the last stretch of my pregnancy. I had been very uncomfortable at the end and had to sleep sitting up). I woke up, and to be quite honest thought I had peed myself (which, for any of you that have been pregnant would know is not shocking to happen in the last month of pregnancy lol). As I walked to the bathroom I quickly realized my water had broke. After I cleaned myself up, I went upstairs to wake my husband Adam up. As I quietly woke him up and calmly told him my water broke and we would soon be meeting our baby, he jumped out of bed and was starting to get ready for the hospital. I told him to slow down and that just because my water broke didn’t mean we were heading to the hospital just yet. I called the hospital and they told me to come in around 8 am if contractions hadn’t started by then. So off we went to the hospital, but first we made a pit stop at my parents house to drop Griffy off. We got to the hospital and had an exam done, and contractions had started but were barely there.

It’s amazing how mother nature prepares you to have a baby. I could never understand why at the end of every woman’s pregnancy they actually WANTED to give birth. and after experiencing it all, I definitely see why. You just get so uncomfortable by the end and want to meet your little baby so bad that you actually wish upon labour! Atleast I did 🙂

At the hospital they told me they could either induce me (since my water broke I had to have the baby within 24 hours), or I could go home for couple hours and see if labour happened on it’s own – which would make the contractions a little more manageable. So I opted for the second choice of course! We left he hospital and went out for breakfast with Adam’s mom and sister, then headed to his mom’s house since she lives so close to the hospital and I laboured there for awhile with contractions, but they were still manageable. I got on the exercise ball, and as I got up to go get ready to head back to the hospital, another gush of water came out. Now the contractions were ramping up, and I could barely get myself ready for the hospital. Once we arrived back at the hospital at 2 in the afternoon, I was still only 2cm dilated. So they had to induce me with Oxycontin…and boy they weren’t kidding when they said the contractions would come on strong and intense fast! I had 3 hard hours of contractions, one of top of each other sometimes with no break in between. My nurse was great and knew I wanted an epidural whenever possible. So at 8pm that night, I was finally 3 cm, and she called the anesthesiologist. He came within 5 minutes! it was a miracle, I was in so much pain… I barely felt him do the epidural and it was INSTANT relief. Adam watched the monitor that he had been looking at earlier as he had been counting me through each contraction and watching the monitor for when they were starting to go down. As he looked at the monitor and saw the contraction getting stronger and stronger he looked at me in amazement and asked if I could feel it? I told him I couldn’t feel a thing, and then slowly fell asleep. A couple hours later the nurse came in to check and see if I had dilated anymore… And to our surprise I was 10 cm, and she told me to get ready to start pushing! We were in total shock, and then a little bit of panic sunk in as I asked her if my doctor was here yet. She told me we would start to push abit and then she would get someone to call him. He arrived shortly after that, and then I pushed for an hour and a half. I was so surprised that even though I had an epidural I could feel everything. It was just alot of pressure, no pain. I could move my legs abit and was able to take control of pushing.  At 1:41 am, our little angel arrived… I can’t even begin to describe the feeling I had as I saw him – it is something completely indescribable. They let Adam cut the cord and then quickly whisked him over to a counter, as I just watched in amazement. They then laid him on my chest and I just stared at him as we both cried tears of joy and kept looking at eachother in disbelief that we made this special little boy. As he laid on my chest they examined him. When they told me he was a healthy boy my heart skipped a beat. All we wanted was for our baby to be okay.

We are so blessed and beyond grateful to have this little angel, and for our positive birth experience. Adam’s dad was definitely watching over us and making sure all was okay. There were many times where I prayed to him and all our guardian angels to help me through it and to make sure Logan would be okay.

IMG_6405

IMG_6305

IMG_6285

IMG_6328

IMG_6986

Alot of people have been asking me about his little Logan outfit ❤ I ordered it off Etsy! Here is the link to the shop (I am going to frame it in a shadow box with his hospital bracelet and birth announcement) https://www.etsy.com/transaction/212624126

IMG_6387

I am so thankful for such an amazing husband and partner. I could not have made it through this experience without him. Watching him become a daddy has been the most incredible journey, and I have fallen in love with him all over again.

IMG_6386

Our lives have been changed forever by this little chubster, and he has made our hearts grown double the size. Being parents is definitely not easy – but it is so worth it. It’s amazing to look at this little baby and think he grew inside my tummy. Being a mommy is the most incredible and rewarding experience and I would do it all over again in a heart beat. I am so grateful for this little boy xox

 

2 Responses to “Logan’s Birth Story”

  1. Linda Wilgus October 29, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

    Many congratulations on the birth of your beautiful baby boy! He’s almost the same age as our little boy, Sebastian, born September 26! He’s our third and you’re so right, every labour is different. I loved reading your story!

  2. carlyrose28 March 18, 2015 at 1:44 am #

    Hi there! I just stumbled across your blog/IG! And thought it was pretty cool that you gave birth at LHO. I work there and actually gave birth to my son there the day you posted this! Hope your enjoying being a mom! It’s the greatest feeling ever! Happy blogging!

    Carly
    Frecklesandcheeks.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

