Healthy Pinterest Recipe Ideas

10 Jul

Can you believe we are already in July? Isn’t that crazy?

Summertime everyone always want to look their best, and it’s great because you are so much busier and enjoying most your time outside. However, in the summer you are also eating out on the patio at restaraunts more, enjoying alcoholic beverages (a whole lot more) and attending a lot more parties (that usually involve both eating and drinking). So this summer I am vowing to make some healthy choices, especially during the week so that I can indulge on the weekends.

I have found lots of great recipes on pinterest and thought I would share some with you!

I am 100% not a breakfast person. Literally I could go until noon with only having coffee, but I know that is so bad. So I have started a new routine that I am LOVING. I prep a morning shake every night before bed with my lovely magic bullet – and down it on my way to work. It not only tastes great, but I now crave it in the morning and it keeps my energy up in the morning!

This is the formula I started with….

My usual shake consists of: A cup of almond milk, scoop of chocolate whey Protein, flax seed and a handful of blueberries, bananas and spinach (I switch up the fruit every so often)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

RECIPES I’VE TRIED =)

Although most my dinners consist of quinoa, sweet potato, veggies and chicken – I have been trying to incorporate some new ideas. Tonight, I had fish taco’s with a chipotle sauce with greek yogurt – It was delicious!!! (however, start with only one or two peppers, mine was a little hot).

For the Chipotle Yogurt Sauce:
  • 6 ounces plain Greek yogurt
  • 3 chilis in adobo sauce, chopped plus 1 tablespoon adobo sauce (I use canned chipotle chilis in adobo sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice, zest of ½ lime
  • Salt to taste
twobertis

twobertis

You can find the recipe, along with her homemade turkey burger recipe here: http://www.theroastedroot.net/southwest-turkey-burgers-with-chipotle-yogurt-sauce/

Loved this soup!

Heat 2 teaspoons canola oil in a pot; cook 1 diced onion and 2 sliced carrots for 6 minutes. Add 1 pound thinly sliced boneless raw chicken thighs, 1 cup sliced mushrooms, 2 sliced celery stalks, and 2 minced garlic cloves; cook 5 minutes. Add 4 cups chicken broth, 1 cup water, 3/4 cup quinoa, 4 sprigs thyme, and salt and pepper. Boil, reduce heat, and simmer about 15 minutes, till quinoa is tender.

Went to a party on the weekend and made this dip!! So simple and yummy!!

Made these spinach turkey meatballs the other night, Adam loved em!!! (however, I didn’t use any bread crumbs)

Recipes I still need to try……

<<Click on the picture and it will take you to the recipe>>

http://www.goodlifeeats.com/2013/04/italian-chicken-skillet-dinner.html?_szp=353026#_pg_pin=535016&_pg_pin=553730

Hope you enjoy the summer while it’s here!!  🙂

KT, XOX

Leave a Reply

