Updating a Kitchen on a Budget

14 Jan

There are so many inexpensive ways to update your kitchen!

  • Paint
  • Hardware
  • Counter top
  • Backsplash

CABINETS:

I have a friend that has melamine frameless cupboards & a counter tops she hates and is looking to update the space on a budget. I have suggested painting her cabinets white to freshen up the space because she has dark hardwood floors and dark leather furniture. And her kitchen/living space is open concept.

here is the type of cabinet she currently has: These are a little more difficult to just paint because she doesn’t have any trim or framing to work with.

Here are some pictures & ideas I came up with to help…….

In the pictures below they just painted & added new knobs….

Although I am not a fan of the turquoise colour for cabinets, I think even this picture shows just a little bit of paint can really freshen them up!

Here they updated the cabinets with trim & added stainless steal pulls, which i love!

Check out the before picture for the Kitchen below, it’s incredible! http://www.younghouselove.com/photo-gallery-2/our-first-house/

COUNTER TOPS:

I have even stumbled upon a budget friendly way to create your own butcher block counter tops at http://loraine-breakfastfordinner.blogspot.com And she did it all for $56, pretty amazing!

Her Counters went from this:

To this…

Another little upgrade is to add cabinet feet, to make it a little more professional looking – I wanna do this in my kitchen!

I love the before & After…

Check these Before & Afters out…

Wish I knew the link for the Reno below…. Just found it on pinterest

Here’s another great site that gives you step by step on painting kitchen cabinets.

http://www.320sycamoreblog.com/2012/01/how-to-paint-kitchen-cabinets.html#more

And last but not least, here are the pictures from my own Kitchen Reno šŸ™‚

Check out our Kitchen Reno here: https://twobertis.wordpress.com/2011/10/16/our-kitchen-reno/

Happy Painting!

KT, XOX

2 Responses to “Updating a Kitchen on a Budget”

  1. Kim Brown January 14, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Got any ideas on those gross cabinets that are from the 80’s, which with the brown trim on the bottom šŸ™‚ I can’t find anything! THANKS! xo

    • twobertis January 14, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Kim, email me a pic!! you mean the white ones with the brown trim for the handle? I will do my research for ya šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

