Holiday Home Tour

9 Jan

I hope everyone had an amazing Christmas Holiday & Happy New Year. Our family had the best time, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time off. Although I was hoping to post this earlier, the holidays got the best of me and I didn’t get a chance until now. I wanted to share with you guys the progress of our new home. There is so much to show, but I am going to leave certain rooms with the “before & afters” for another time. I am just going to give you the main rooms and let you take a peak into our home decorated for Christmas.

We have done alot of painting, cleaning and re-organizing over the holidays. We also hosted an  Ugly Sweater Party and Christmas dinner for 20 – so I thought I would show you how I decorated for that as well. (I may have gotten a little carried away, but I just love hosting fun parties).

Let’s start with the entry…

fronthall2Here is a few pictures from the ugly sweater party decor :)

DSCN1802

DSCN1808

DSCN1810

DSCN1815

fronthall

christmas tree

christmas2013

One of the first things we did was replace the pendant lights over the kitchen island ….I chose these clear west elm pendants to make the kitchen a little brighter

Now the only mistake I made was buying the west elm bulbs – I loved them in the picture because they gave off that industrial restoration hardware look. However, because our kitchen cabinets are a cream colour, it just gave off a yellowish light that was not flattering for my kitchen, so I just put in normal clear 40 Watt bulbs.

Here is the BEFORE

DSCN1610

WEST ELM  http://www.westelm.com/products/lens-glass-shade-w774/?pkey=cchandeliers-pendant-lighting&cm_src=chandeliers-pendant-lighting||NoFacet-_-NoFacet-_–_-

And here are the new kitchen pendants hanging in our kitchen – I think they turned out great.

kitchen

I am in LOVE with my new counter kitchen stool chairs. My parents got them for us as an early Christmas present. They are from restoration hardware.

kitchen chairs

kitchen4

kitchen2

kitchen3

familyroom

DSCN1762

mantle

The dining room is off the kitchen – I found this awesome chandelier from an antique store downtown Bowmanville, and I think it brings alot of character to our older home. I was going to paint it white however, once I got it home and saw it with my white slip covered chairs etc, I realized I actually liked the gold and thought it added more character to the house.

DSCN1695

diningroom

  • Chandelier: Antique Store, “Under the Toad Stool”
  • Chairs: Ikea
  • Table: My Grannys, that I repainted and finished
  • Clock: Homesense

DSCN1693

The main

BASEMENT TOUR….

One of the best things we chose to do was to paint the brass pieces on the fireplace in the basement. I looked on pinterest (of course) and found some tutorials and before & afters – I used BBQ spray paint because it is heat resistant for high temperatures. I was able to take each piece off and spray them outside which was great. I didn’t realize before then that you those pieces just clip on and off.

basement fireplaceB+A

Here is the paint I used:

bbqpaint

bbqpaint2

We started out by painting the basement with Gray Owl – which is exactly the same colour we used in the basement at our old house. Since we had just finished that basement and loved it so much, we thought we would make the new one similar.

Here is a little flashback to what the basement looked like BEFORE:

DSCN1647

DSCN1649

BASEMENT NOW:

DSCN1772

We bought a new couch for the basement from Ikea in Svanby Gray.

DSCN1774

DSCN1776

DSCN1778

DSCN1779

DSCN1782

There was another bedroom in the basement – and because we don’t need another bedroom currently we have turned it into a gym until we decide one changing the room more permanently.

DSCN1784

DSCN1785

And let’s end this big long post – with the prettiest picture of our backyard this winter <3

backyardKT, XOX

2 Responses to “Holiday Home Tour”

  1. Jess January 9, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

    Beautiful home! You really have an eye for design.

  2. Pattie Berti January 9, 2014 at 8:32 pm #

    Gorgeous! So happy for you:) Wish we were there!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers

