I’M BACK & Moving on :)

19 Nov

Well, not even really sure where to begin, as I feel like I have just been in a whirl wind for the past few months. About once a day I would say to myself that I really need to sit down and get back into the blog, but I just felt like I had so many things to share with you guys that I didn’t know where to start. However, today is the day….. I am going to start with a quick recap of our life lately. :)

Mid September we took a trip down to Florida to go visit our friends. The day before we leave, I take a quick peek on mls.ca just to see what houses are available (this is not out of the ordinary as I usually take a look every few days just to make sure I don’t miss out on something wonderful). Now you are probably thinking – were you planning on moving? Answer: Not really. haha. My husband and I had been talking about it for awhile and decided maybe in the spring we would get our house ready to sell and then start looking more seriously. Well, back to the day before we leave for Florida – I message Adam in a panic telling him I have found this incredible house that has EVERYTHING on our wishlist and is somewhat affordable lol. I tell him that I just have to see this house tonight because it is to good to be true!! Adam is working that night and can’t go with me, so I tell him i will go and just see if it’s worth him going to see before we leave for Florida.

I go to see the house….. it is everything and more! I love the kitchen, layout, ravine, pool, hot tub and totally private backyard. When Adam came home from work that night I told him he would have to go see it the next day before we leave for Florida! So fast forward to the next day. Adam works till 6pm, we meet our realtor at the house around 630pm and Adam takes a look around and of course just gives me THAT look and says “Katie, obviously this house is beautiful and I love it – but we are leaving for Florida in an hour, what do you expect me to do here?” At that moment I knew he was right, we couldn’t make such a hasty decision – literally life altering when you are talking that kind of money. (Adam is way more sensible when it comes to finances and big decisions). I told him I knew he was right but at the same time I didn’t want us to lose out on this house and regret it later on. So our amazing realtor who had obviously been through this type of situation before made us feel better by saying “listen guys, you don’t have to make a decision tonight, why don’t we get some more info on the house (age of windows, roof etc) and then as long as you can get to a fax machine we can do the offer from Florida.” That was perfect, I was happy because we didn’t necessarily back away from the house and Adam was happy because he didn’t have to bite the bullet right then and there and buy this house.

So we leave for Florida…we drove down which took about 2 days, then stayed at Adam’s parent’s condo for a night and then headed to see our friends living in Boca. I had just told our friends about this amazing home and how much we loved it when I got an email from our realtor explaining that they had got an offer and taken it right away…. My heart was broken… I couldn’t believe we didn’t even have the chance to put in a bid or anything. Adam was in shock and obviously felt horrible knowing how much I loved the house and I think reality set in a bit of how quickly good things go in this market. Our realtor explained they have a week of conditions and that anything could happen so he will stay on top of it and let us know if anything changes.

Fast forward to the end of our trip. The last night we were in Florida we met up with Adam’s cousin’s family and were having a wonderful time catching up. We got a call from our realtor late that night saying the other buyers are asking for an extension and if we can get to a fax machine within the next hour then we can send them a firm offer which could beat out the extension. Adam and I didn’t even need to think about it – the only problem was we were thinking where the hell can we find a fax machine at 10 at night??? Thank the heavens that his cousin’s wife just happened to be a realtor in her previous career and still had her fax machine! So that was it – we signed the documents and sent them off and within an hour or two our realtor called and said it was ours :) We were so happy!!!

When we woke up the next day reality set in…. Now we have to drive home immediately and go and get our house ready to sell. Talk about stressful!!! Once we were home we spent the next 3 days just cleaning and purging. Then our house went on the market – and luckily we had someone come in firm on the 3rd day! It was such a relief… Neither Adam or I had ever been through anything like this before because our current house Adam had built, so we had never been through this whole process. And what a process it is!! Luckily with a great realtor, it really does take alot of the stress off.

So fast forward to today… I am currently still packing and getting ready for the move. We move FRIDAY!!!! and I cannot wait. We are so excited for this new chapter. I will be sad to leave our home because it is where we started our little family together with our dog Griffin, but I am excited for the new memories we are going to make in our new home.

I am going to share with you a couple of pictures of the house, but believe me – I will be blogging alot more :) I have some much inspiration for this house and ideas, I can’t wait to share them with you!

<<I do apologize, these photos are all from my phone – because I can’t find the cord for my camera… story of my life lately haha)

frontofhouse

backofhouse

house6

house5

house3

house2

house1

house4

3 more sleeps!!!!

KT, XO

3 Responses to “I’M BACK & Moving on :)”

  1. Pattie Berti November 19, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Katie & Adam,
    We are SO happy for the both of you!! It sounds like all of your dreams have come true:)
    Best of Luck and many Happy New Memories in your beautiful home!!!
    Love, Steve & Pattie Kisses and Hugs from Gigi & Izzy

  2. Jackie November 19, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    wow Katie! This house is absolutely gorgeous! Your a lucky girl :) So happy for you

  3. Jess November 19, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

    Wow! Beautiful house. Congrats! That’s so exciting that everything worked out for you guys. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers

